Month: May 2013

  • Alas, poor XANGA! I knew you well...

    I'm sure most of you heard the news, right? Xanga will be shutting down soon if their $60K fundraiser goes south. Unfortunately, for "the house of X," I'm broke. As much as I would love to pump some funding into the relaunch, I can't afford it. My premium subscription was already a  bit of a financial stretch, to be completely honest.

    I'm thinking it would probably be cheaper to sell the site. Someone's gotta be interested in a site with a faithful following of dedicated bloggers. Not many sites start off with built in users. Companies merge and get brought out all the time. Why not blogging sites, too? Of course, it just wouldn't be the same. 

    I feel really bad about this because this site seemed like it would always be around.

    This blog gave me an outlet. It was a nice and private place to rant, rave, bitch, and complain while archiving some important milestones in my life. I blogged about my first job as an office temp. I blogged about my time as an intern for a film and video company. Xanga was around when I was going to art school full time. It was around during heartbreaks and cheerful times. This entire thing is filled with my life. I hate to see it shut down for good because it's a part of me. I grew up here, for shit's sake.

    I feel like I'm being evicted.

    I suppose I'll make an official entry very soon, one that will be in the same vein as my "Who am I and where to find me" post from last year. It'll be something nice, I guess... There's no reason why we can't keep in touch. In the meantime, I'm going to archive over 10 years worth of blogging. Never thought I would have to use that feature, but I guess the day is here...

    ...and it's a very sad day for me. 

     

    Currently
    Gun Machine
    By Warren Ellis
    see related

  • Rejection... again

    I opened my email and found another rejection letter from an illustration agency. At this point, it's useless to keep fishing in that river. I'm starting to think that I need to really improve my work or something... To be honest, I'm not even really sure. My ego isn't as bruised as last time, but my gut is telling me to elevate my art to a new level. I have to get better and quickly.

    In the interest of improving and keeping my sanity, I'm going to start posting some sketches here on this blog. That's the only true method of getting better---it's the only way I know how to accomplish that. Besides, other than those card samples, I haven't posted any sketches in a while. I figure with enough movement, I should be able to start seeing results. I need to add to my portfolio anyway. Consider it an overhaul because I want to make art that people can't ignore. 

    Back to the drawing board, as they say.

    -KG

     

    Currently
    Sherlock: Season Two
    By Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Rupert Graves
    see related

  • Chernobyl Diaries Review

    Chernobyl Diaries

    Sadly, a little disappointing and predictable. I find it a little weird that no one in this movie smoked. Having faulty flashlights and cell phones as the only light source was too convenient for the writer. Honestly, any group you find yourself in, there's at least one smoker, a guy or girl with a lighter (maybe even a book of matches). Even if they're trying to quit, they carry a lighter on them out of habit. Oh, and they're in Russia (or close enough) for crap's sake.

    Why am I making a big deal about this?

    Because the movie would have been over in like 30 minutes if they had fire. Seriously! Fire would have solved 80% of their problems. Cold temperature? Fire. Can't see shit? Fire. Pack of ravenous wolves? Fire. Nocturnal motherfuckers hunting you? Fire, fire, fire, fire, and more fire

    Naaaaah! Let's not ruin the whole aesthetic of the film. Instead, we're going to drop their collective IQ and make them completely dependent on technology.

    I'm gonna give it 2½ of 5 stars because, well... they hurt my feelings.

    -KG 

     

  • Networking with Artist

    I've been in the House of X for over 10 years now. I'm old. I've seen 'em come and go, so to speak. The crazy thing is that this site has changed tremendously since the old days. Naturally, the early years was very much "bleeding edge." Blogging was in the infant stages and some might argue that it's currently in the twilight years. I remember running into so many like-minded individuals and most of them were artist. Painters, cartoonist, animators, etc--- it was a nice variety of disciplines. Even though they're not active on Xanga anymore, I still keep in touch with a large chunk of them through other social media sites.

    After running into cartoonist, @phoebester, it gave me an idea. I think there are more folks to discover here at X-Land.

    I want to expand the network a bit more and keep up with other artist who are currently blogging here. If you know anyone in the arts, whether it's painting, cartooning, or whatever, do me a favor and put their username in my comments section. You can just put the "@" sign in front of it and I believe it will create a link right on the spot. Oh, and if you're feeling generous, you can recommend this entry. The main stipulation is that the artist should be currently active on Xanga. 

    I'll appreciate it.

    -KG

     

     

  • Agents of Illustration

    Most of you know I've been trying to get into the screenwriting game for a couple of years now. One of the main achievements to unlock is an agent or manager because they're your biggest ally. Think of them as one of those rare unlockables that boost your score to epic proportions (not sure why I'm doing all these video game references----just go with it). There's agents for writers, but I was a bit shocked to discover that agents exist for illustrators, too. 

    The other day I came across a list, a very long list of agents for illustrative art. Believe me when I tell you this, my monitor glowed extra bright when I opened the links. It felt like something out of an Indiana Jones movie or when Nic Cage gets his paycheck. Illustration is not a dying profession, it's everywhere; from that jar of olive oil to a spot in your favorite magazine. Of course I want in on that. So, I started browsing the list and I tried out an agency. I sent them an email and introduced myself, all business-like. They responded about an hour later. Naturally, I was thinking, "Whoa........!"

    When things like that happen, I get a little excited. In fact, I get a little more than excited. I'm off the wall, bouncing into shit because I can literally feel my life changing for the better. Having an agent just seems like the most professional thing you can have as an artist. It doesn't make you a better artist, but it certainly helps having a guide to lead you on the path to paychecks. Besides that, most of this illustration stuff, like the gigs, finding an audience, selling your work, getting work and all that, well... it can be quite a lonely endeavor. I remember asking a fellow artist (who shall remain nameless) about his agent and he told me he wasn't legally allowed to go into detail about anything. He was a weird motherfucker... or he didn't want competition. Anyway, having an ally, a person who's willing to help you out by finding the gigs and exposing you to their network, is a beautiful thing. In hindsight, I was an idiot for thinking it would be so damn easy.

    The agency wanted to see my portfolio, so I gave them my Behance.net link. The lady said she liked my work, but the agency wasn't taking on any new clients.

    What.

    The.

    Hell? 

    Sadly, this isn't the first time that happened to me. I've been trying to find work for over three years (both art jobs and regular-mind-numbing-employment). I've run into my fair share of bait n' switch correspondence. It's fuckin' annoying when a company expresses interest, but suddenly change their mind when you get serious about applying. When they see something they don't like, that whole "we're are not taking on any new clients" shtick is their go-to line that roughly translates to "Get the fuck outta here." Since that was the millionth time that happened, I decided not to suffer in silence anymore. I sent a reply.

    It wasn't anything mean. I was still in professional mode and wanted to get to the bottom of things. I was thinkin' there's something wrong with my art. Too comic-booky, too edgy, not edgy, too many girls, not enough girls, lack of variety---something. I needed to hear an excuse---a reason for that dreaded rejection line. 

    She told me that she really did like my art. It's just that my initial query didn't contain a link to a portfolio, so she figured she'd ask for it. 

    Part of me thinks she was lying because, if they truly weren't taking on any new illustrators, why not tell me that from the start?  If the shoes were on the other foot, in some crazy role reversal scenario, I would have told the querying artist, "Hey, we're completely booked. You can send in your portfolio, but we're currently full." That's completely honest and doesn't leave any room for someone to get their hopes up. On the other hand, I did tell her to be completely honest with me, concerning my art. She said she liked it. No critiques  complaints, or anything negative, which is a good sign. So, there's a 50% chance she was just... I don't know... inconsiderate? Thorough art appreciator? Whatever the fuck---I don't know. In any case, I believe I burned a bridge. 

    When you send someone your portfolio, there's a certain amount of confidence you need to possess. Much like asking a woman who's way out my league on a date. People with power tend to smell fear and I was reeking of it. To send something in and then ask what's wrong with it, well... I just made myself look weak. Shit, maybe I am weak... I turned into one of those insecure art babies because I didn't handle rejection well. I've been turned down by countless women, but God forbid if someone doesn't like my art ability. Artist, whether they want to admit it or not, are fragile creatures. I bruise easily and I don't even have to take a bump. I can just think about somebody "friend-zoning" my work and I'll be fucked up for a while. I could use some thicker skin. 

    Fortunately, they're not the only agency on this planet. Hell, I suppose it would have been too perfect to strike gold on the first dig. I'll keep at it and while that's happening, I'm going to continue adding to my body of work. There's gotta be some agency out there that's the perfect fit.

    Something tells me this may take awhile. 

    -KG

     

    Currently
    Exam
    By Luke Mably, Adar Beck, Gemma Chan
    see related

  • Sketch Cards

    Walking Dead - Sketch cards

    Sketch cards are fascinating little things. It's quite the nightmare to the type of artist that's used to having space to work their magic. It does take adjusting. Hell, the fact that you have to do everything traditionally might turn some people off. I can personally say that Photoshop spoiled the shit out of me. I damn near had to re-educate myself with markers and coloring pencils. Despite all of that, sketch cards are just freakin' cool. You have a work of art compressed into a tiny area, but there's a lot of skill that goes into it. 

    So I wanted to get in on the action.

    I probably already went into detail with this, but my first sketch card gig, for a company that shall remain nameless, was a bummer. I took on too many cards for my first time, just like trying to be a basketball player and jumping straight to the playoff finals. Once I got into a groove, it wasn't that bad. Honestly, I think my inking skills have improved. Try inking 100 + cards, you'll get better---you have no choice in the matter. Of course, the negative side of the gig took place after I completed the cards. Slow payment was a major issue. Unfortunately, I had to send a few heated emails---a little strong-arming here and there, but I eventually got paid. It just took almost a year's worth of uncertainty to get it. Would I work for them again? That depends on the licensed property they offer me, but I'm sure they crossed me off their list of talent.

    I tried to find a different card company to work for and thanks to my good pal, Guile Sharp, I found Cryptozoic Entertainment. Guile is a great artist and a stand-up guy through and through. He was nice giving me the info. Much like a guy slipping into a club I'm not supposed to be in, I made the best of it. I didn't want my nasty sketch card experience to be the only sketch card experience. It turned out the folks over at Cryptozoic are awesome. Very professional and friendly, which is a great combination to have.

    With any card company you work for, the rules state that you can't post any artwork unless your cards are approved. In same cases, you can post depending on the release date. Concerning my first gig, I'm still waiting for that particular company to announce the set, release date, or something---anything. While I was waiting for payment, I always wondered if they had any intention of doing anything with those cards. I don't even care as much anymore. I guess the art side of me wants people to see the work.

    With that said, I'm proud to show you a sample of the cards I worked on for Cryptozoic.     

    The process was a bit of an experiment for me because, well... I wanted blood splatter. We're dealing with zombies, death, gore and all that good stuff. I wanted to make the cards seem like there was actual blood on them, so I brought red ink and used a spare tooth brush to flick it on there. It came pretty close to the desire results.

    The release date for the cards is June 5th, a day before my birthday. I'm seconds away from mailing in my invoice, so there's a good chance I'll be able to celebrate properly. Shit, maybe I'll have some beer. Oh, and I have to admit, it feels really nice seeing my name on their website. 

    I can't wait for the next gig. 

     

    Currently
    The Cabin In The Woods
    By Kristen Connolly, Chris Hemsworth, Anna Hutchison, Fran Kranz, Jesse Williams
    see related

     

Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031