Month: October 2013

  • A Fresh Start

    Riddick_Jam copy copy

    Y'know, when I took on my very first concept art gig, I was very excited because, well... it was a gig. There was also the extremely satisfying feeling of accomplishment. Being the art school drop-out, I always feared that would have knee-capped me from getting any job in the art industry.  Fortunately, the entertainment business doesn't work that way. It's all about your talent, what you bring to the table, and who you know. Location plays a factor into it as well, but, ultimately, you can find work outside of any art school's seal of approval... though it wouldn't hurt to have a degree attached to your portfolio.

    Of course, no mater how much education you have, you'll never be prepared for getting dicked around...not the first time around, at least. The unfortunate thing about that gig was I never received a contract or nondisclosure agreement (NDA), which made me ten shades of paranoid. Hell, I didn't even receive the full movie script. That paranoia effected my work and enthusiasm. The entire project was shaky as fuck to begin with, so I couldn't help but feel like I was setting up shop on a sinking ship.

    I recently had a talk with a friend on Facebook and he brought up the idea of me working on a film he's trying to pitch to a major studio. Of course, I said yes. Concerning my first gig, I was young and dumb with zero appearance. I didn't know anything and put my trust in their professionalism. It turns out, that project never left the ground and I didn't receive any compensation for the work I did. I'm not too upset because it wasn't my finest hour, concerning quality. To be honest with you, I'm ashamed of the work I put into it. That was a few years and I matured since then. I'm wiser and my skills have improved.

    So, back to my friend...

    He offered me a concept art gig. The cool part is that he sent me the NDA in a matter of hours. No fucking about on his end. I remember having several phone conversations with the producer of my first gig and I mentioned the NDA and contract almost every single time. I was promised that I would get it, but it just never happened. The other cool part about this current gig is that my friend and his producer are setting something up where I would get paid half up front for the work, which was something I was planning to bring up first. They beat me to the punch and that's always a good sign. My first assignment felt nightmarish due to the uncertainty of getting paid for my effort and ideas. That's just like a NFL wide-receiver having contractual issues with his team. He's not going to work hard and risk his health trying to catch passes. He could get injured and not have the money to take care of his family. The lack of certainty shows in people's work, no matter the profession.

    It's always good to work with folk that are serious about the business side of things. I know what happens when all the ducks aren't in a row and it's nice seeing how things look when they are lined up to perfection. Even though my friend put me on this assignment, it's still on a trial basis. He's smart enough to know that just because he get along outside the realm of film making doesn't mean things will go smoothly when the work comes in. For all he knows, I could be a disaster. This small gig is a way for him to set up a good business relationship with me and we'll move forward from there.

    I'm excited because it's a gig and it just feels damn good to start fresh.

    ---

    Current Jam: 

    ►  Jacuzzi Jazz by Audio Lotion

  • Early Bird envy...

    Harley Quinn #0

    Harley Quinn - Contest page

    Old news if you follow me on Facebook or Google +, but I did a thing for the DC Comics Talent Search. I missed the deadline due to technical difficulties, but here it is. My advice to fellow artist trying to break into major companies or just folks trying to produce their own shit: Complete everything early. Never turn in anything the day of the deadline. That's a no-no.

    From here on out, I'm going to make sure to join the ol' early bird special for everything because the stress ain't worth it.

  • Sheesh...

    Phase two is really taking its dear time.

Calendar

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031