Month: August 2013

  • Hmmm...

    I was just offered a job penciling a seven page comic (six sequential pages along with a cover). The only problem is that, well...... Here. I'll just paste it:

    "Payment for your work would be based on a percentage of net income generated by sales, when and if the project is picked up by a major publisher. To offset the fact that we do not pay up front fees initially, we offer higher royalty percentages than most major publishers in the industry (if you would prefer to ink your work as well, then obviously the percentage of said royalties would increase.)"

    Am I being too cautious? I'm a bit worried because it's not guaranteed cash flow. Even if I rock their socks, there's no guarantee that people will make purchases. Right now, I feel like I need to get paid up front--at least half. I guess what I'm trying to really ask is... should I pursue this?

     

    Currently
    Fantastic Four: The Masters of Doom
    By Mark Millar
    see related

  • Stress aka The House of Broken Windows

    It's somewhat stressful warding off depression, even more so with jealously. Most of you who know me are aware that I didn't graduate from "art school." Hell, I only mention my grievances every couple of minutes, I'm sure you had some inkling of my situation. I've been going at it from the very traditional method of learning the rest on my own---the "School of Hard Knocks." Of course, when seeing a friend, an illustration major with a fresh degree, get a wave of opportunities, I end up hating myself. I want to be happy for this person, but there's this thing inside me that wants to turn over a table and rampage through the city. 

    Getting a degree is hard. Pick any major, you not only have to pay for that piece of paper, but you also have to work your ass off for it. That's the unfortunate basis for higher education and everyone should be commended for their efforts, especially if they make it all the way through. On the other hand, it's art and most of the success should come from talent. It's great to have a degree to back up those talents, but the guy or girl that lacks the credentials shouldn't be kept on the bench. I'm watching my friend get so many offers from different companies, collectors, commissions, and even magazines. I can't help but feel a little jealous.

    This person has talent and I'm not knockin' anything about them. I'm the one that's fucked up because... shit.. I guess you can say that I'm in a dark place. I see a fountain of opportunities flowing for this person while I'm stuck here, struggling like nobody's business. I should be extremely happy for this person because they deserve all the good things coming their way. I'm just a mess because I shouldn't want to punch a hole in the wall when I hear good things. I shouldn't have the urge to break a window when a friend signs a $3000 contract or get hired for anything. Those are good things and I need to be better than this.

    I'm just tired of struggling. It's been years since I decided to do this sort of thing for a living and the entire thing has been a rough fuckin' journey. I never had my feet firmly planted and life just keeps bum-rushing me---blocking me. It's always one step forward and two steps back, which is extremely annoying. I just need a break from all this negativity and bad luck. Just one solid lead that actually turns out to bare some fruit, is all. I just need an opportunity---just one fuckin' opportunity, for shit's sake.

    I need good fortune or, at the very least, I need these obstacles to calm down so I can do it on my own. At this point, just give me something.      

    Shit.

    Currently
    Fantasy Workshop: Mastering Digital Painting Techniques (ImagineFX)
    By ImagineFX
    see related

Calendar

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031